Carespotter | Find a Caregiver

Log in
Questions? 407-792-4697

David K.

  • David K.

  • Age: 37
  • Longwood, FL
  • Experience: Exp: 14 years
  • Experience: 14 years Exp: 14 years
  • Speaks: English
  • Availability: Full Time
$12.00/hr
?
Contact Me
  • Hourly Rate:
    $12
  • Taxes & Fees:
    $3.11
    ? Caregiver's hourly rate
  • Family pays:
    $15.11
  • Rates are negotable depending on care needs

Contact Me
<< Return to Search Page

Hi, I'm David!

Hello, I am new to this website! I am a 34 years old male with a background in Health Care and am a Christian. I began working with patients in an Occupational and Physical Therapy setting in 2004 at Baseline Rehabilitation in Winter Park, FL. I then attended Florida Hospital College of Health Sciences to earn a degree in Occupational Therapy. Occupational Therapy improves functional capacity and quality of life for people using complete knowledge of anatomy and kinesiology, and cognitive ability of the human body. I developed a passion early on for patient care as well as taking care of myself. Over the years I received many compliments for my patience, patient/caregiver communication skills, attentiveness, knowledge of Science of Health Care, and ability to recognize the needs and potential of others. I have a great but professional sense of humor and have never had an enemy in my life! I always enjoy meeting new individuals with the desire to help them as well as learn from them! My hobbies include spending time with family and friends, music, sports, exercise of any kind, exploring new things and finding ways to succeed. I love making things interesting and fun for others regardless of the situation. Since 2004, I have worked, volunteered, and attended student clinical rotations Geriatrics, Physical Dysfunction, Pyschology, and Pediatrics. My main interest has been in Geriatrics and have experience in central Florida many clinics including: Florida Living ALF in Altamonte Springs, Waterman Village ALF in Mount Dora, Sunbelt Apopka and East Orlando ALF, and Nemours ALF in Kissimmee. I have attended Florida Hospital College of Health Sciences for a Bachelor in Health Sciences In which I am a few online credits short of my degree. I have also spent 3 years in the Occupational Therapy program but am on hold due to financial reasons. With a background in Occupational Therapy, I believe in complete patient care but also in minimizing deterioration of conditions whenever the opportunity safely presents itself. One of the greatest benefits of Occupational Therapy is the cognitive training aspect that most Health Care does not offer. When I am able to assess a persons cognitive level, I can then determine what activities interest them as well as their limitations. I believe this is very important! I have experience with meal preparation, hygiene, transferring, cleaning, environment safety and physical activity safety. I am CPR certified. I drive a 2012 Chevy Cruz and have reliable transportation. I am new to this website and am working on the reference emails. Feel free to contact my long time Masters of Physical Therapy Supervisor Robert Whitaker at Select Therapy. 407.539.2953. I will not call out of work, and am willing to be available on all Holidays. If chosen, I will make a long term commitment to the job. I'm looking forward to all opportunities and making a difference!



My top 3 skills as a caregiver are:
  • Compassion
  • Highly empathetic
  • Lots of caregiving experience


I became a caregiver because:

I began working in a physical therapy clinic(Select Therapy in Winter Park) in 2004 after completing a BS in Health Sciences. I fell in love with helping people rehabilitate and return to living life at a high level. After spending 5 years with the company I decided to go back to Florida Adventist University for a degree as an OTA. I chose this because I enjoy working with the elderly. Enabling the geriatric population to continue living a happy life is something that became very important to me while caring for my grandfather. He passed in June 2014, but I feel without great enthusiastic care, that date would have come sooner. My goal is to preserve a happy life for the elderly for as long as possible!



Outside of work, my hobbies and interests include:
Biking, sports, time with friends and family


My proudest moment as a caregiver has been:
I have so many over the years! I was very proud when I was able to return an 71 y/o woman who could hardly stand for longer than 5 minutes back to the golf course by simulating golf like activities in the clinic. I have many moments such as this, because I think at a later age some tend to accept their current state. If I can make someone happy, even if it's simply feeding themselves, then I am happy.


Homecare Skills & Services

Services:

  • Bathing, Dressing, Grooming
  • Cooking
  • Eating Assistance
  • Laundry
  • Light HouseKeeping
  • Medication Management
  • Mobility Assistance
  • Other
  • Pet Care
  • Shopping and Errands
  • Toileting
  • Transfer Assistance

Experience with:

  • Alzheimer's/Dementia
  • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
  • Cardiovascular Disorders
  • Diabetes
  • Gastrointestinal Disorders
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Hospice Care
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Neurological Disorders
  • Orthopedic Care
  • Other
  • Parkinson's Disease
  • Post Surgery Recovery
  • Respiratory Disorders
  • Skin Disorders
  • Stroke

Education

Work Experience

0 Testimonials

1 2 3 4 5
Summary
1 2 3 4 5
1 2 3 4 5
1 2 3 4 5
1 2 3 4 5
Contact Me

Quick Facts

Hometown: FL, Longwood
Pets: I love pets
Allergies: None
Smokes: No